Grace and Nature

In the movie Tree of Life, Terrence Mallick’s character Mrs. O’Brien opens the movie saying, “The Nun’s taught us there were two ways through Life, the way of nature and the way of grace.”

This year I wanted to search out the ways of grace in my life and the ways I hope to offer grace to others.  Grace, according to the movie accepts the things in life that nature struggles with. Grace is content to be. Nature, is looking for self gratification and for others to tend to it’s needs. Grace finds happiness,  or at least peace, even in the things that are disturbing and Grace understand that there is a world of joy and contentment, if we will let it in.

This year, even though I am starting later than I planned, and for the next 364 days I want to explore the idea of small graces and everyday happiness. My hope is to become more gracious/grace-like in the exploration. To understand what is beneath the ways of nature about me that I prefer to hide. To hope that in exploring the “nature” aspects I may become more graceful in accepting them about myself. I hope to find the moments of grace that are akin to a deepening faith and an abiding sense of trust in the universe, and in those I love and who love me.

Leave a Reply

